Betty Gage Holland Award

The Betty Gage Holland Award, founded in 2005, annually recognizes excellence in college journalism and honors the late Betty Gage Holland, a long-time friend of journalism education at the University of Georgia. An award of $1,000 is presented to the winning student journalist and an additional $1,000 is given to the publication sponsoring the winning entry.

For more information please go to the Betty Gage Holland Award area of the Grady College website.

Read about recent Betty Gage Holland Award winners:

2020-2021: Indiana Daily Student wins Betty Gage Holland Award for 2021


2018-2019: University of North Alabama’s Flor-Ala newspaper honored with Betty Gage Holland Award

2017-2018: The Sunflower at Wichita State University honored for excellence in college journalism

2016-2017: Investigative report on sexual misconduct on college campuses wins 2017 Holland Award

2015-2016: Investigative series examining Texas A&M’s investments wins 2016 Holland Award

2014-2015: Student reporter from the University of Memphis wins Holland Award for excellence in college journalism

2013-2014: California State University, Fullerton wins Holland Award for excellence in college journalism

More past winners:

2012-2013 2011-2012 2010-2011 2009-2010 2008-2009 2007-2008 2006-2007 2005-2006