Cox Institute’s Levin Leaders Program

The Cox Institute offers top Grady journalism students the opportunity to study leadership development principles during each Spring semester.

Participants, selected competitively, are immersed in a hybrid training experience that combines the best of online education with facilitated leadership development workshops. The program is designed to prepare students for leadership roles in a “digital first” era influenced by social media and an explosion in mobile platforms.

The program began in 2013 in partnership with the Poynter Institute. In 2017, the experience was revised to deploy the “Your Leadership Edge” program, which encourages participants to develop the skills to “lead anytime, anywhere.” In 2019, the program became the Levin Leaders Initiative after a new gift pledge from Adam Levin and the Philip and Janice Levin Foundation. The Levin family’s gifts and pledges to the program to date exceed a quarter million dollars.

Keith Herndon, professor of practice in the journalism department and director of the Cox Institute, leads the leadership workshops and coordinates the program.

2019 Levin Leaders

Read more about the 2019 Levin Leaders here.

The Levin Leaders from the Cox Institute were recognized at their annual recognition dinner. The keynote speaker was Amy Glennon (ABJ ’90), the Cox Institute Industry Fellow. Athens, Georgia, on Monday, March 4, 2019 Sarah E. Freeman/Grady College

2018 Cox Leaders

Read more about the 2018 Cox Leaders here.

The James M. Cox Jr. Institute for Journalism Innovation, Management & Leadership hosted Spring Leadership Dinner on March 8, 2018 at the UGA Special Collections Library. James M. Cox Jr. Leadership Medals were presented to the sixth cohort of Cox Institute.

2017 Cox Leaders

Read more about the 2017 Cox Leaders here.

Richard Griffiths (Cox Institute Industry Fellow), Katelyn Umholtz, Taylor Cromwell, Lauren Sloan, Zachary Hansen, Denver Ellison, Anna Logan, Cory Cole, Reann Huber, Daniel Funke, Mollie Simon, Lauren Herbert, McKenzie Lewis, Miles Moraitis, Jaylon Thompson, Keith Herndon (director)

2016 Cox Poynter Leaders

Read more about the 2016 Cox Poynter Leaders here.

Front row seated (l-r): Emily Selby, Erin Cavalli, Lauren McDonald, Evelyn Andrews, Jennifer Goldberger. Standing (l-r): Jamie Han, Sam Lack, Grace Donnelly, Keith Herndon (faculty), Haylee Silverthorne, Mariya Lewter, Kalyn Wilson, Macey Kessler, Alison Menhart, Gabriel Cavallaro, Katie Kraft.

2015 Cox Poynter Leaders

Read more about the 2015 Cox Poynter Leaders here.


Front (L-R) : Melanie Watson, Deegan Mundy, Kathryn Roberts Standing (L-R): Elizabeth Grimsley, Jamari Jordan, Kendall Trammell, Taylor West, Eli Watkins, Stephen Mayes, Laura James, Jordan James, Allie Blinder, Brenna Beech, Keith Herndon, visiting professor of journalism

2014 Cox Poynter Leaders

Read more about the 2014 Cox Poynter Leaders here.

2014 Cox Poynter Leaders

L-R: Keith Herndon, visiting professor of journalism; Aashka Dave, Hilary Butschek, Jeanette Kazmierczak, Nicholas Watson, Brittini Ray, Nicholas Fouriezos, Meredith Thornhill, Kathleen LaPorte, Whitney Wyszynski, Hayden Field, Chris Conley and Cailin O’Brien.

2013 Cox Poynter Leaders

Read more about the 2013 Cox Poynter Leaders here.

2013 Cox Poynter Leaders

L-R: Mac Little, Megan Ingalls, Lauren Blais, Polina Marinova, Maura Friedman, Sofia Jesani, Christopher DeSantis, Keith Llado, Darcy Lenz, Kelsey Kent, Lindsey Cook, Amanda Dixon, Keith Herndon (visiting professor), Katherine Wolpert, Cody Schmelter.